Innovator Award

The purpose of the NCCTM Innovator Award is to recognize and reward individuals and/or groups who have made an outstanding and noteworthy contribution to mathematics education and/or NCCTM.

Nomination Instructions and Form (PDF)

Questions? Contact Ana Floyd, Asheboro City Schools [].

2022 Recipient
Dawne Coker

NCCTM proudly recognizes Dawne Coker as the 2022 NCCTM Innovator for the establishment and continued commitment to developing mathematics resources for elementary teachers, students, and families. Dawne has made outstanding and noteworthy contributions to mathematics education and served the state of North Carolina for over ten years. Elementary teachers in North Carolina are fortunate to have a tremendous amount of high-quality mathematics resources to support classroom instruction and assessment. Many of these resources were developed or revised by Dawne Coker. Dawne has partnered with the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction on many occasions to create and improve resources for elementary mathematics. Dawne served on the standard revision team for kindergarten through second grade prior to the adoption of the 2018 Standard Course of Study. She co-authored, reviewed, and provided feedback for the K-5 Mathematics Unpacking Documents. She was part of a writing group that created sets of Formative and Instructional Assessment Tasks (that are now a part of the Tools4NCTeachers website). She also consistently provides feedback on the K-2 formative and end-of-year assessments. Dawne has contributed to state-wide grants and initiatives including the North Carolina Collaborative for Mathematics Learning (NC2ML) and Tools4NCTeachers. Dawne served as part of the team that provided feedback and input into the NC2ML Instructional Frameworks. She attended meetings and provided feedback about how the new standards should be organized and grouped into clusters. On the Tools4NCTeachers grant, Dawne served as a lead author and professional development facilitator for the kindergarten resources and materials. In that role, Dawne was one of the leaders of a team who wrote lessons, tasks, parent letters, and other supplemental resources to support teachers. She also edited and assisted with the creation of the Next Steps documents for several grades on the Tools4NCTeachers project. In the last few years, Dawne has created instructional materials that she has shared for free. During the 2019-20 year, Dawne created free homework and activity sheets with mathematical tasks designed for third grade, and helped edit and provide feedback to the activity sheets created for grades 4 and 5. Dawne also developed a YouTube channel that includes a wealth of resources for elementary teachers --- videos on number talks, how to use manipulatives and technology resources, mathematical tasks, content support, and tips for the end-of-grade assessments. Dawne’s YouTube channel has over 3,000 subscribers. During the Spring of 2020 when COVID-19 required remote learning, Dawne added videos to her YouTube library by conducting live video lessons which used inquiry and the exploration of mathematical tasks. The city of Fayetteville’s local television station aired her videos in July 2020 as a resource for parents and students. In addition to the videos, Dawne also created and shared end-of-year tasks and activities that parents and teachers could utilize to gather information on students’ mathematical understanding. One person described Dawne as, “An incredible individual who gives freely of her time to provide feedback, support, and resources to teachers and educational leaders across the state".


2019 Nathan Borchelt and Sloan Despeaux- Math Teachers' Circles Project
2018 Denise Johnson; NC Collaborative for Mathematics Learning
2017 Ellen Hilgoe
2016 Eric and Kimberly Marland
2015 The Burroughs-Wellcome Fund
2014 Drew Polly; NC Component of the American Mathematics Competition (AMC)
2013 Sid Rachlin; Editors of The Centroid
2012 Math Celebrations (Logo Contest)
2011 NC School of Science and Mathematics
2010 Vincent Snipes
2009 Archie Benton
2009 Charlotte Mathematics Club
2008 Bampia Bangura
2008 Professional Engineers of NC
2007 Susan Friel
2007 State Math Fair Committee
2006 Lothar Dohse
2006 State Mathematics Contest Committee
2005 Summer Ventures in Science and Mathematics
2005 Gail Stafford
2004 Jeane Joyner
2003 Becky McLawhorn
2002 Betty Long
2001 W. Earl Mitchell, Jr
2000 Tom Blackburn and Virginia Hawn
1999 Clifford Z. Adams
1998 Harold Williford
1997 Harold B. Reiter
1996 Jerry Taylor
1995 John Goebel
1994 Ralph Willis

A Message From Our President

Karen McPherson
High School Mathematics Coach
Buncombe County Schools

You have the power to change the future of Mathematics Teaching in North Carolina.

 Read More

NCCTM Statement on Equitable Access to Quality Mathematics Instruction

Students need to experience mathematics in ways that allow them to be successful and that give them the power to change the world. This experience needs to be delivered with both excellence and equality while resonating with the lives of Black, Latinx, Indigenous, Asian, and all marginalized peoples. Racism cannot be tolerated, and we as teachers must be vigilant that we do not tolerate nor contribute to racism, bias, hate, or violence in our classrooms.

 Read More