Rankin Award

The Rankin Award is designed to recognize and honor individuals for their outstanding contributions to NCCTM and to mathematics education in North Carolina.

The award, named in memory of W. W. Rankin, Professor of Mathematics at Duke University and first recipient, is the highest honor NCCTM can bestow upon an individual.

Nominations may be submitted at any time; recipients are announced each year at the State Mathematics Conference. 

For more information see the Nomination Instructions [PDF] or email the Selection Committee Chair, Emogene Kernodle, at nekernodle@yahoo.com.

2019 Recipient

Dr. Catherine "Katie" Stein Schwartz

Dr. Schwartz has been an extraordinary educator for more than 20 years and has consistently been recognized for outstanding teaching and leadership. She was named “Elementary Mathematics Teacher of the Year” in Chapel Hill/Carrboro City Schools in 2003, was a finalist for the ECU Alumni Association Outstanding Teaching Award in 2013, and the NC Board of Governors Distinguished Professor of Teaching Award in 2019! She is a founding member and secretary for the Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators–North Carolina.

2018 Marta Garcia
2017 Martha Ray and Kitty Rutherford
2016 Bampia Bangura and Carol Midgett
2015 Wendy Rich
2014 Ron Preston, Rose Sinicrope
2013 Ray Jernigan, Julie Kolb, Dan Teague
2012 Ann Crawford, Debbie Crocker
2011 Marilyn Preddy
2010 Rebecca Caison
2009 Harold Reiter, Jane Timmerman
2008 David Royster, Jerry Taylor
2007 Ben Klein, Barbara McGill, Bill Scott
2006 Phillip Johnson, Emogene Kernodle, Bill Waters
2005 Bill McGalliard, Betty Long
2004 Randy Harter
2003 Diane Frost
2002 John Goebel, Harold Williford
2001 Ralph Willis
2000 Jan Wessellv
1999 Jane R. (Betty) Barnett, Robert Joyner, Virginia Newell
1998 Roger Bruhwel
1997 Hunter Ballew, Jacquelin Nutt, Janice Richardson
1996 Richard Haworth, Peggy Rooks
1995 Claudette Brownley, Theresa Early
1994 Gilbert Casterlow, Leo Edwards, Jr., Mary Joyce Henderson
1993 Christine W. Gantt, Joyce D. Hooker, Ron Marshall
1992 Annie Puett, Lee Stiff, Linda H. Sullivan
1991 Betty Robinson, Jeane Joyner
1990 Ralph DeVane, Jeanette Gann, Jean Taylor
1989 Elizabeth Frazier, Sue Sams, Olive Taylor
1988 Gerry Francis, Geneva Maney
1987 Ronald Hann
1986 Joseph W. Dodson, William F. Palmer, Betty Williamson
1985 Katharine Hodgin, Ruth Rufty, Katye Sowell
1984 Miriam Leiva, John W. Ogle, Emmett Sams
1982 William Paul
1981 Elaine Bologna
1980 Robert Jones, Josie Thompson
1979 Margo Perkins
1978 John Kolb, Cleo M. Meek
1977 Ruby B. Smith, Herbert E. Speece
1976 Sybil Duckett-Gambell
1975 Annie J. Williams
1974 Marjorie Brown, William W. Rankin

A Message From Our President

Stefanie Buckner Hill
K-12 Mathematics Specialist
Buncombe County Schools

You have the power to change the future of Mathematics Teaching in North Carolina.

 Read More

NCCTM Statement on Equitable Access to Quality Mathematics Instruction

Students need to experience mathematics in ways that allow them to be successful and that give them the power to change the world. This experience needs to be delivered with both excellence and equality while resonating with the lives of Black, Latinx, Indigenous, Asian, and all marginalized peoples. Racism cannot be tolerated, and we as teachers must be vigilant that we do not tolerate nor contribute to racism, bias, hate, or violence in our classrooms.

 Read More